How the covid-19 pandemic has personally impacted me

The covid-19 pandemic hasn’t personally affected me much but there have been a few small bummers.

The single biggest bummer is that I’m worried about my annual Misfits cover band Halloween show — will we be able to practice by the summer? Will bars be open again by Halloween? It seems likely but one never knows. Of all the stuff I have planned over the next year, this is the one thing I’m actually concerned about. Playing music I love with great pals is a highlight of my year so I’ll be quite dismayed if it can’t happen in 2020.

The second biggest bummer is that there is obviously no thrift shopping going on these days. I knew I liked thrifting and had become more interested in it over the last few years due to my obsession with ugly 70s/80s household accoutrements but I didn’t realize just how much I liked it. It’s something I keep thinking about every several days and have to remind myself that I can’t do for the time being. Waaaaaahhh.

The third bummer is that, while writing this recent blog post about how there are only several bands I still want to see live, I learned that one of said bands (Dead Can Dance) was going to be performing in Vancouver in a few months. I bought tickets immediately and couldn’t believe that after many years of fandom, I would finally be seeing them. Well, that’s obviously not happening now. I’m not beside myself over it but I’m certainly disappointed. The website says it will be rescheduled but yeah right. The whole world is going to be backlogged once we start climbing out of this foxhole so rescheduled shit will probably be years off…just in time for the next pandemic, yaaayyyyy.

Oh, I just remembered another. I used to go for massages and physiotherapy regularly, and I miss that. I’ve had some nagging aches and pains lately that were improved by my last few sessions, and I really wish I could have continued treatment for those things to get them taken care of.

That’s all I have to complain about though. I’m still working and getting a social outlet that way, still making money and able to pay bills, I have a big yard I can do stuff in and endless hiking and running trails right outside my door, and I have a spouse I can be physically not distant with. It’s not so bad.

Leave a comment