Duncan BC, 2022 AD

Got back from the north island yesterday afternoon. Spent this morning doing errands in Duncan and catching up on shit. Here’s what we did.

  • Went to pick up some free 70’s furniture but it had already been scooped. Dang.
  • Got keys cut for Jenn’s new truck at Price’s. It was way more expensive than getting keys cut at Rona or Canadian Tire but cheap keys never fucking work so it’s worth it to me.
  • Went to Duncan Auto or whatever it’s called now, returned the old Tercel battery for the core charge and picked up an alternator belt for the car.
  • Went to Coast Capital to do some mortgage stuff. Took a fucking hour to sign two documents. Total bullshit, I’m sure they do this on purpose for some kind of marketing ploys.
  • To make up for that shitty hour, we went to the Tin Cup for bubble tea, and it was fucking awesome. I got milk tea, Jenn got strawberry.
  • Went grocery shopping at Superstore. Loved it. So many great pieces of shit there.

I still like Duncan in a lot of ways but it really has changed a lot in the last 20 years. Jenn and I have been talking lately about how Port McNeill is the new old Duncan, it really reminds me of Duncan in the 90’s or early 2000’s, and I love that. It’s just the right kind of dump. I look forward to living up there in the near future and getting to spend more time there.

But for now, while we’re here, I still dig Duncan. Not the traffic, that’s total bullshit now, but there’s still lots of love there.

Leave a comment