I’m becoming a christmas guy

Lately I’ve been feeling really nostalgic for the holiday season, just reminiscing on xmas 2019 a lot and looking forward to xmas 2020 like crazy. It’s weird because I’ve always liked xmas but not this much, nowhere close. Halloween was always #1 for me but the month of December has now eclipsed it. Maybe that’s the thing, maybe xmas used to just be about the one day, which is nice for sure, but now it’s more like a month-long celebration, full of warm twinkly lights in the darkness, fantastic food, spending quality time with good friends, and warm feelings. For the last few years we’ve pared down on the obligatory family visits and increased the number of xmas parties and get-togethers with friends that we hit over the month and this last year was really nice. I think we had something like 13 xmas events over the course of the month. It was a lot for sure, almost too much, but in hindsight I’m happy with it because of all the great memories I have from them.

happy_mushroom_friend_by_cheeseyay-d2z574u

Boy, that wasn’t very tough to figure out. It’s not so much that I’m a Christmas guy, it’s that the whole month is packed with great times with friends. I guess some summers have that going for them too but it’s more weather dependent so it doesn’t always happen that way, plus all the heat and sunlight suck, and then there’s the stress of droughts and wildfires. December is reliably cold and dark so that really gives it a leg up for a mushroom like me.

So to be more precise, I’ve become a ‘multiple events with friends over the entire month of December’ kind of guy.

Leave a comment